1975 NEIAC Conference Champs 20-7

In the spring of 1975, the East Noble Knights captured the school’s very first conference baseball championship. Preseason predictions had the Knights looking at a rebuilding year after losing several seniors from the year before. Behind the pitching of Kevin Helmkamp, Don Fee, and Kirk Hampshire, the Knights rolled through their schedule.

The team set several school records at the time. The first East Noble team to win 20 games and the school’s longest winning streak were just a few.

Three starters from that team were named first team all-conference: Don Fee at pitcher, Kevin Ruble at Shortstop, and Trevor Tipton at catcher. Kevin Ruble was then named the team’s MVP.

Those players from the1975 team in attendance today are Don Fee, Kevin Helmkamp, Keith Speheger, Duane Leighty, Jim Pankop, Trevor Tipton, Brent Ritchie, Duane Forbes, Greg Fisher, and manager Mark Sible

The Knights were coached by Head Coach Fred Inniger and Assistant Coach Dick Bentz.

Team members not able to make it today: Rick Uhl, Phil Helmkamp, Kirk Hampshire, Dave Sible and Steve Ihrie.

Three teammates that are deceased include Kevin Ruble, Jeff Norris, and Bob Bruce.

Congratulations to these Knights who 49 years ago brought home the schools first conference crown.